The King’s Cup League 

The King’s Cup League – Stage 1 (2020)

The King’s School West Rand in association with Dynamic Chess Solutions presents The King’s Cup League – Stage 1 (2020). The players list will be published here and on Chess Results on Friday, the 6th of March 2020 at 20:00.

Tournament Information


7 March 2020


1st place in the rated sections receive a small trophy, 2nd place, 3rd place and the Best Girl in the rated sections receive a medal.

Time Control

60/60, 5 Rounds.



Players are to be seated at 07:30.
Round 1 will start at 08:00.
Round 2 to 5 will start 15min after the previous round has ended.


The King’s School West Rand,
61 & 63 Malcolm Road,
Poortview, Ruimsig.



Registrations close on Friday, the 6th of March 2020 at 20:00. (No late entries will be accepted.)

Sections & Registrations

You can enter the tournament by clicking the ‘Register Now’ button below.

Please note: Registrations will be divided into 4 sections (A, B, C & D) based on players’ Chessa Ratings.


Section A

  • Chessa Rating: Ranked 1 – 20
  • Players: 20
  • Entry Fee: R200
  • 1st place: R2500
  • 2nd place: R2000
  • 3rd place: R1500
  • Best girl: R500

Sections B

  • Chessa Rating: Ranked 21 – 60
  • Players: 43
  • Entry Fee: R200
  • 1st place: R750
  • 2nd place: R500
  • 3rd place: R250
  • Best girl: R200

Section C

  • Chessa Rating: Ranked 51 – 90
  • Players: 40
  • Entry Fee: R200

Section D

  • Chessa Rating: Unrated players
    and players rated
    < 600 (Beginners)
  • Players: 20
  • Entry Fee: R200

Currently Registered

Jakob Mnguni Mikhael Pillay Owakhe Malevu Amber Fauconier Tlhalefo Tapisi Shevern Govender Oboitshepo Mesele Joss Still Bokang Digoamaje GABRIEL NAICKER Ajeet Maharaj Hannah Deysel Lunam Macala Arehone Mundalamo Jake Piorek Aditi Maharaj Anaamika Maharaj Chloe Badenhorst Daelen Price Keanu Barradas Joseph Mwale Konrad Caroto Bernhardt Van der Merwe Leago Mphahlele Benjamin Spies Davida Strong Amour Mugaragumbo Sibo Molo Sagar Ranchod Daniel Schroeder Shane Buchalter Markus Le Grange Kalyan Poongavanum Kwandiwe Mhlophe Ivile Dyam Yashil Modi Sanjana Ramlall Zoey Mungal Samantha Uwakata Samara Uwakata Benjamin Hercules Karabo Teeke
Providence Oatlhotse Amila Malevu Thoriso Lekhanya Kole Mokwena Brandon De Wet Pranau Govender Levi Joshua Maria Luchies Boikanyo Digoamaje Ameet Maharaj Oagile Maithufi Kaleb Deysel Kimani Tabane Noa Gardiner LUKE CHAMBERS Arya Maharaj Gomolemo Mokone Eryk Knight Rocco Aldum Regan Cannell Tashil Naidoo Tapera Uzeni Kela Kaulule ntando zwakala Abigail Spies Mark Goldberg David Charles Mendelsohn Zachariah Basson Janka De BEER Lefa Tlale Olwakhe Sehlangu Ehrhardt Le Grange Khodani Nwedo Lonwabo Ntovana Inathi Dyam Ruben Van der Merwe Luthandolwethu Nkungu Ethan Mungal Botshelo Segalo Adrian Underwood Monei Molotsi

Tournament Rules and Regulations

By entering into this tournament you agree to abide by all the rules and regulations.


  • Sections A, B, C and D are rated sections.
  • Notation for Sections A, B and C is compulsory! (Notation pads and pens will be provided.)
  • The latest FIDE rules apply.
  • The tournament organizers, arbiters and other officials are not responsible for the safety of any player or their possessions.
  • Right of admission is reserved.
  • No items may be sold or traded by any person other than those given permission by Dynamic Chess Solutions in writing.
  • A tuck shop will be open on Saturday, the 7th of March 2020 for the purchases of food, snacks and drinks.
  • Chess equipment will be for sale by Dynamic Chess Solutions.
× Get in touch